Local Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney can help guide legal process
In Tennessee, a misdemeanor crime is less severe as a felony crime, yet it still warrants the need for a proper local criminal defense attorney. As in most states, misdemeanor crimes are categorized as Class A, which carries the most severe weight, Class B and Class C, which is the least severe of the three. Penalties for misdemeanor crimes in Tennessee are outlined below:
Class A Misdemeanor
- Up to 11 months and 29 days in jail
- Fine of up to $2,500,
(Common examples include burglary, perjury, possession of a controlled substance, or possession of up to half an ounce of marijuana.)
Class B Misdemeanor
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Fine of up to $500
(Common examples include prostitution, criminal trespassing or minor theft.)
Class C Misdemeanor
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Fine of up to $50
(In Tennessee, public intoxication along with trespassing or disturbing the public are a few examples.)
These penalties vary in range of jail times and fines and can sometimes include both within each category. While the most severe can lead to almost a year in jail time, on the other hand, the least severe can lead to around a month in jail.
In many scenarios, criminal law charges and arrests do not legally indicate guilt, but it is vital to seek legal representation as soon as possible in order to maintain the rights of the accused are protected.
All in all, the amount of people who attempt to defend themselves in the court room is significantly low for many reasons. Regarding representation, it is almost impossible for the common person to understand all aspects of the law and like most matters – it is best to seek a professional or someone who specializes in a certain skill set. The same is true within the legal system.
The time and preparation that goes into each criminal defense case goes far beyond what many may perceive. Each case is unique in its own right and there are several factors and variables that come into play.