Selecting a Murfreesboro DUI lawyer is a key first move in DUI law

Within DUI law, choosing a Murfreesboro DUI lawyer is a key first move

Driving under the influence can be a serious offense in Tennessee. With all of these scenarios in mind, finding proper representation and a knowledgable Murfreesboro DUI lawyer is key. If you are new to the law, then you should know that if you are an offender, there are tough consequences that follow. While the consequences you may face are dependent upon the severity of the situation, driving under the influence is a serious matter to the individuals involved but also other drivers as well.

The blood alcohol level in Tennessee in which drivers are considered drunk is set at .08. Also within Tennessee DUI law, having an extremely high BAC at .20 or above can have harsher penalties.

When it comes to children and adults under the drinking age, Tennessee has a “zero tolerance” policy. If the person involved has a BAC of .02 while driving, then the person can commit a DUI offense.

In the same regard, if a youth is found guilty of impaired driving, then their license will be revoked for one year and they will receive a $250 fine. At the same time, the court can enforce community service too. 

At Drake Drake & Frost, we’ve outlined a few of the consequences regarding DUI law in Tennessee. 

First DUI

  • Sentence of one year, with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 48 hours
  • If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is over .20%, it carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 7 days
  • Fine up to $1,500
  • Loss of driver’s license for one year (however, you may be eligible for a restricted license allowing you to drive from home to work/school. Also, depending upon your BAC, you may be required to install an interlock device on your automobile.
  • Mandatory completion of DUI school and victim impact panel
  • Community service

Second DUI

  • Sentence of one year, with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 45 days with probation for the remaining year
  • Fines between $600 to $3,500
  • Loss of driver’s license for two years (however, you may be eligible for a restricted license after the first year allowing you to drive from home to work/school)
  • Installation of the interlock device on your automobile
  • Mandatory completion of DUI school and victim impact panel
  • Community service

If you obtain a third DUI, penalties will result in fines up to $10,000 with a loss of driver’s license for three to 10 years without the potential for a restricted license. In the case of a fourth DUI conviction is considered felony DUI with fines up to $15,000, jail time up to six years and a loss of driver’s license for five years.

If you have been charged with a DUI, feel free to contact a Murfreesboro DUI lawyer at Drake Drake & Frost for legal counsel. For more information on the first steps for finding a Murfreesboro DUI lawyer, click hereTo learn more about Tennessee DUI law, click here.

0

About admin

    You May Also Like