Tennessee marijuana laws demand attention for experienced Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney
It goes without saying that if you have any reason that you or someone else may be in line for a criminal law charge, the need for a criminal defense attorney is of utmost importance. From a DUI charge to shoplifting to a more serious offense such as assault or a misdemeanor crime, the need for an attorney always exists because laws can be strict depending on the charge.
When it comes to Tennessee marijuana laws, the possession and sale of marijuana is still illegal although many states are changing their ways. If you are charged with simple possession of marijuana, then a fine and jail time could be punishment.
In Tennessee, possession or exchange of less than .5 oz. is considered a Class A misdemeanor with punishment that may include drug school classes and a minimum $250 fine. If there are multiple offenses, fines can increase significantly into thousands of dollars along with a more extreme time limit in jail.
Regarding the sale of marijuana, punishment and penalties in Tennessee vary depending on the amount of marijuana sold, but for the sale of .5 oz, penalties can include a fine of up to $2,500 and a year in jail while the sale of more than .5 oz but less than 10 pounds may include a fine of up to $5,000 and jail time between one to six years. On the other end of the spectrum, the sale of 300 pounds or more can carry a heavy punishment of up to $500,000 fine and a minimum of 15 years in jail. In comparing and contrasting these two situations, one is more extreme and there is middle ground between the two in fines and jail time.
Because you are arrested, it doesn’t always mean you are guilty, so finding the best Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney that matches your scenario is vital. Marijuana laws in Tennessee can change, so an experienced attorney can be a wealth of knowledge.